Sustainability: The Journey not the Destination

“Not all those who wander are lost.”  
―     J.R.R. Tolkien

Over the past few weeks I have found myself getting caught up with the destination rather than taking time to enjoy the journey. As I am currently renting, I have not been able to make all the lifestyle changes I would have liked such as installing solar panels, having chooks and living off the grid. I have been worried about work and study and whether all the decisions I have made will lead to the right outcome.

So it is time to slow down and reflect on the journey I am on and all of the small positive steps I am taking towards living a more sustainable and fulfilling life. After all, we all go to the same place in the end, and as one of my mentors used to say ‘there is no point being the richest or most successful person in the graveyard’.

Here are some photos of my journey over the last couple of months. Even though I have yet to figure out what my destination will be, I am learning to make the most of the ride along the way!

DSCF5112
Repotting Chilli Seedlings
DSCF5248
My Compost and Worm Farm
DSCF5246
My Garden Plot
DSCF5099
Silverbeat and Tomatoes
DSCF5223
Distilling Lavender
DSCF5247
Gardening Tools
DSCF5245
Chilli Seedlings
DSCF5239
Growing Corn
DSCF5238
Abundance of Tomatoes
DSCF4775
Visiting the CERES Garden
DSCF5217
Lavender Harvest
2 Comments

Leave a Reply

