Winter Moods and Musings: Combating Seasonal Affective Disorder

For those of you who know me well, it will come as no surprise to hear that my mood is significantly tied to the weather. If it is warm and sunny I am a little ball of happiness, if it rains I am a sooky mess.

For a long time, I thought my terrible moods and depressive tendencies throughout the winter months were just me being grumpy and turning to my hibernation instincts as an excuse not to get anything done.

However, apparently feeling down and empty in the winter is a real thing. A thing that many people suffer from.

It is called Seasonal Affective Disorder. The organisation 1 Million Women has recently written a fantastic article about how to combat it. To read it please click Here.

Monitoring and improving my moods has been something I have been working on a lot over the last couple of years. Mostly I do it through photography, reading and gardening.

So here are some photos I took earlier today when the grey fog was descending both literally and metaphorically.

Edit5Edit1Edit2Edit6edit4edit3

2 Comments

  1. These photo’s are truly stunning and while they help you they have also helped put a smile on my face after a very stressful day at work. Left in the dark, home in the dark and raining all day. Thankyou for your beautiful images. Love n light to you🌞

Leave a Reply

